Scattered Chick Christmas

I find myself getting more down with every day closer to Christmas. A month ago, I was energized and joyous, purchasing the turkey and ham for our feast and beginning my Christmas shopping. Now I am depressed and troubled by stress dreams. I’m not sure what to do. Attending church helps, and so does reading my Bible and letting the enormity of God’s mercy and love sink into my heart. I have been enjoying my familiar Christmas CDs, singing along with gusto, but the music is mostly a distraction.

Today I believe I have discovered the source of my sadness. It is a common reason for disappointment during the season. It is the scattered Chick Christmas syndrome.

Jesus talks in Matthew 23 to the people of Jerusalem, saying, “how often I wanted to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing…” I am no theologian, but I think Jesus wanted to gather all the people to him, and bring them together in love and truth; to make them a family of God.

I’ve never tried to herd kittens, or to gather scattered chicks under my wings, but we often compare situations in our lives with such a scenario. This Christmas I have had a taste of trying to gather chicks. How can my children all come together with all the distance between us, the in-laws that want (and deserve) to spend time with them, and the jobs we all have? But we all managed it. We will all be able to come together on Christmas Day to open presents and either have dinner or dessert. I’m a blessed mother to have children that want this gathering together as much as I do. So why on earth am I feeling down?

Because my selfishness keeps raising it’s ugly head. Selfishness says, ‘Why can’t we all be together for more than a few hours? Remember when the kids were little and you had a whole Christmas vacation together? Why can’t I have more?’

I hate that selfishness. It doesn’t care about anyone but itself, and that meanness has no place rearing it’s ugly head while we celebrate the birth of Christ, the son of God who had no selfishness in him, who would teach, heal and lay down his life for us.

So suck it up, buttercup. Be grateful for what you have, for what you get. Shower those children and grandchildren with all the love you have to give. Soak up the love they give you! Tell selfishness to go away and don’t come back.

Many have lost loved ones that are missed more sharply at this time of year. Many people have no one they long to be with on Christmas, and no one that longs to be with them. I need to add those people to my prayers. I need to look outward, not inward, and be ready to help, encourage, love.

Merry Christmas. May we draw closer to God this year, be filled with his spirit. May we find gratitude, which leads to happiness. And may we all gather those scattered chicks under our wings for a few hours this Christmas ❤️

Leave a comment